Assault Weapons Crimes in Massachusetts
The state of Massachusetts has a strict ban on certain kinds of firearms designated as assault weapons. These weapons are typically powerful semi-automatic guns, many of which are commonly used throughout the world in various military and police forces. If a person possesses one of these weapons without the proper permission from the state, he or she may be charged with possessing an illegal firearm. The penalties for violating this ban can be harsh, making a person’s legal defense particularly important.
Penalties for Possessing an Assault Weapon
Massachusetts state law explicitly lists a number of items under the assault weapons ban, including any AK models, UZIs, AR-15s, and similar firearms. In addition, other guns may fit the profile of an assault weapon if they include select attachments for different classes of firearms. If someone is caught in possession of these weapons, he or she may face the following penalties:
- For first-time offenders, between $1,000 and $10,000 in fines
- For first-time offenders, between 1 and 10 years imprisonment
- For second-time offenders, between $5,000 and $15,000 in fines
- For second-time offenders, between 5 and 15 years imprisonment
Continued possession offenses can increase the likelihood of maximum sentencing and may result in additional penalties and collateral consequences for a defendant.
If you’ve been charged with possessing an assault weapon, we may be able to help you fight these charges and work towards restoring your freedom or securing a favorable plea bargain. To learn more about how our experience can be put to work for you, contact attorney James Powderly today by calling 508-343-0676.