Penalties for First Offense DUI
A DUI, or driving under the influence of a controlled substance, is a very dangerous action that the Massachusetts legal system takes seriously. Those who are accused of this behavior and face conviction are likely to suffer from harsh legal penalties, even if it’s only the person’s first offense. Unfortunately, many people in Cape Cod find themselves facing such charges, something attorney James Powderly knows can be frustrating and frightening.
Possible Penalties for a First Offense DUI
A DUI in Massachusetts can be punished quite severely, even on a first offense. In addition to electronic monitoring or mandatory alcohol awareness courses, those convicted of a first offense DUI may face the following penalties:
- Fines from $500 – $5,000
- Imprisonment up to 2 ½ years
- Loss of license up to 1 year (inclusion of hardship license in some cases)
These penalties can have dramatic effects on a person and their life, sometimes causing financial difficulty or trouble finding a job.
Contact a Criminal Defense Attorney in Cape Cod
Every person accused of a crime has the legal right to defend him or herself against that accusation. Fortunately for Cape Cod residents, attorney James Powderly is experienced handling such cases and know what it takes to get a client charged with a first offense DUI a positive outcome. Should you find yourself facing a first offense DUI and the associated penalties, call 508-343-0676 and find out what defense options are available to you.