FIRST OFFENSE OUI PENALTIES
CAPE COD DRUNK DRIVING CHARGES
Throughout Massachusetts, including Cape Cod, OUI first offenders can receive a possible jail sentence of two and one-half years, with a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000. Additionally, diverse license suspensions can extend for up to one year, requiring a hefty reinstatement fee at the end of that period.
Many people charged with a first OUI offense on Cape Cod have never been in trouble with the law before. Often, these people have many rights and defenses that they are not aware of. When facing the severe consequences of a Cape Cod OUI conviction (such as significant loss of license, heavy monetary fines, and potential incarceration), it is important to AT LEAST speak to a skilled and experienced OUI / Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer.
Attorney James Powderly offers a valuable FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION to discuss the facts of your Cape Cod OUI case and the possible defenses thereto. Attorney Powderly can explain the Cape Cod criminal procedure and how your case will make its way through the court system. Act now to protect yourself and your driver’s license by calling to speak to Attorney James Powderly at (508-343-0676) for a FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION.
PROOF IN A FIRST OFFENSE OUI CASE
Massachusetts drunk driving laws make it illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In addition to operating under the influence, Massachusetts drunk driving laws also make it illegal to operate a motor vehicle while a person’s ability to drive is impaired by alcohol or drugs. There are two ways the District Attorney can prove guilt:
(1) A chemical test showing a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, or
(2) Evidence of inability to safely operate a motor vehicle, such as Field Sobriety Tests, Videotape Evidence, Police Observation, etc…..
FIRST OFFENSE OUI – DUI – DWI – DRUNK DRIVING
• Period of incarceration up to 2.5 years
• Fine: $500-$5,000
• License loss for 1 year: work/School hardship license after 3 months and a general hardship after 6 months
Cape Cod Drunk Driving (OUI) Defense Lawyer James Powderly defends those charged with OUI DWI DUI in Falmouth, Hyannis, Provincetown, Barnstable, Sandwich, Yarmouth, Chatham, Bourne, Mashpee, Hyannis, Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Harwich, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, Provincetown, Onset, Plymouth, Dartmouth, Fairhaven, Mattapoisett, New Bedford, Wareham, Westport and throughout the Cape Code Region. To speak with an experienced Massachusetts OUI Defense Lawyer, call Attorney James Powderly at 508-343-0676.